Welcome!

If you are reading this then you have probably figured out that I’m joining the Peace Corps. I will be leaving for Madagascar in early February and will be there until May 2018. I will be serving  as a Food Security – Agriculture Extension Volunteer. I’ll let you know what that means in terms of my day to day work once I learn myself.

One of the three goals of the Peace Corps is to “To help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans”. This blog will be a way to achieve this goal for family, friends, and whoever else may stumble upon it. I plan to cover various aspects of Malagasy culture as well as the work I’m doing.

If you haven’t known me my whole life and have stumbled across this blog here is a little bit about me. My name is Mikaela Cherry, and I was born and raised in Olathe, KS. I attended Colorado State University for my undergrad in Watershed Science and Chemistry. I then went to the University of Victoria in British Colombia for a masters specializing in isotope hydrology (using chemical isotopes to understand hydrological processes). I love swimming, reading, and hiking.

I hope that this blog is both entertaining and educational. It will also serve as proof to my uncles that I haven’t been married off for a couple of goats. For more information about me and the Peace Corps visit my About Me page. Please feel free to let me know what you want to hear about!

IMG_1400
Glacier National Park (The water was freezing)

“Somewhere something wonderful is waiting to be known”

– Carl Sagan

3 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. I love this Mikaela! So excited for you. Looking forward to hearing about the environs and how it will inform you on ‘what to do next’ to get your thoughts and plans into action. Very interesting and exciting work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

