The life of a trainee: weekday edition 

Even though my day follows loosely the same structure the actual things learned each day varies. This is just an example of what we do during training.
4:30-5:30 Neniko (my host mom) awakes and begins to sweep, feed the animals, and make breakfast.
5-6 I awake an lay in bed and try to determine what is being made for breakfast and when it will be ready.
6-6:30 Neniko, my host sisters, and I eat. We might have rice and eggs or pancakes or bread with bananas and peanut butter.
6:30-7 there is the general rush that occurs in most families in getting little ones dressed and out the door for school.
7-7:30 I help with the dishes, finish getting ready and head off to school myself.
8-12 we have language class in small groups. We started all learning Malagasy Official, but have since moved onto dialects.
12-2 I go back home for lunch. We normally have rice, beans, veggies and pineapple for dessert. Then I hang out and nap or read until it is time to go back to class.
2-5 we spend the afternoon learning about SRI (rice intensification), gardening, and other ag practices. We spend a lot of time doing hands on work like prepping and planting an SRI field.
5-6 I’m back home and playing with my host sisters while Neniko makes dinner. We draw, play clapping games, or run around.
6-7 We eat dinner together. Dinner is made up of a carb (or 3), protein, veggies, as fruit for dessert. For example rice, fried potatoes, tiny fried fish you eat whole, cucumber salad, and bananas. As 7 approaches my younger host sister is starting to fall asleep at the table.
7-9 I say goodnight to everyone and retire to my room. I journal, read, or study until I fall asleep at an embarrassingly early hour.

 

2 thoughts on “The life of a trainee: weekday edition 

  1. Sounds so much like our mission trips to central Mexico. A rhythm of simple life. Wonderful boring and amazing all at the same time. When you return to states you will marvel at the fuss we make about schedules and stuff.
    Would love to hear about their religious life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

