POTD: Chameleons 


My house and yard are fairly overrun by lizards during the raining season. Geckos screech at all hours. My cat goes frantic trying to catch tiny guys with blue tails. And a large spotted one has taken up residence in my shower.

But as you can see from the picture, we also have chameleons. While I find them comical the rest of my community takes a different view. Here they are associated with bad luck and to see one means the ancestors are telling you something bad will soon happen. It probably doesn’t help that these guys come out during the rainy season when food becomes scarce and malaria deaths spike. I’ve seen two in the last few days so I might want to be extra cautious.

Leave a Reply

